Assisting

Do I have to help another player if I don’t want to?
Absolutely not. It’s your choice.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When assisting another player in combat, can I assist on all of the rolls?
Yes, you can assist with initiative, attack and defense for every round.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I am assisting another player, can my ally assist as well?
Yes.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I am assisting another player, do my item disks count as well?
They can, but they can only re-roll up to the maximum number of dice that they rolled.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I move to assist another player, is that considered my normal movement?
No as it is not your turn.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I assist another player, does that count as my action for my turn?
Nope, still not your turn.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Characters

Does "Hand-to-Hand(3) add 3 dice? Does Martial Arts(5) add 5 dice?
No. The (3) and (5) are the costs for those skills. Skills costing 1-3 points give a bonus of 1 die, skills costing 4-6 points give 2 dice, etc.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Do all Attack skills help in combat?
No. Strength is only used to knock down doors. RMW and RHW can only be used if you have the appropriate weapon.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

All of the persuasion skills appear to be identical. What is the difference?
When creating a character for the regular board game, they don't really make much of a difference, except you can't flirt with the security dog or animal handle the humans. These skills come more applicable when playing the GM-run campaign.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I flirt with the dog?
Uh, no. Eeewww!
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I roll a climbing skill even if I don't have it?
Yes, you would just use your Dexterity number.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If I have an item and I don’t have the skill as stated on the item, can I still use the item?
Yes. You would just add the dice to your base attribute.
Example: If you pick up the knife and don’t possess the hand to hand skill, you would just add one die to your base attack skill.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I use my RMW skill in combat if I don’t have a gun?
No. It doesn’t matter how skillful you are with a gun if you don’t have one.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If a player is attacking with the Hand to Hand skill and I don't have that skill, can I still assist him?
Yes. You would assist with your base Attack number.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

How do I buy additional skills for my character?
During or at the end of a game, you can "cash in" your victory points for skill points - 10 victory points per skill point. These can be "saved," but victory points can't be saved. Once you have enough to buy a skill, you can "cash them in" to add that skill to your character.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Combat

When in combat, do you roll initiative for each around?
No. You just roll initiative at the beginning of combat to determine the order of attack (who attacks first).
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I have moved to a square of combat to assist another player, what happens on my turn if the adversary wasn't defeated?
You must roll initiative on your turn, and if you win initiative you can retreat or engage in combat. If you lose initiative, combat will take place.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I use two weapons in combat?
No, but the two-fisted fighting skill is added in Hell Unleashed. See that set for further details.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Disks and Encounters

What is the difference between encountering and flipping a disk?
At this point, there is no difference. When using the Line of Sight rules, there is a difference. See The Horror Within FAQ for more details.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I flip a disk, do I immediately encounter it?
Yes as flipping the disk is actually the action.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

In general, why should you need to make a skill roll to pick up an item in a room?
You haven't actually found that item yet. You are searching in a room, and if you make the skill check, you find that item. Who would have thought there could be a gun in the bathroom?
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

What happens when you start your turn on a face-up adversary disk?
You may attempt to retreat by rolling your movement, and if you are able to move more spaces away from the adversary than their speed as noted on the disk, you move away from the adversary, and he is flipped back over and shuffled per usual. If there is a player on the face-up disk, you move normally.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If I start my turn on a face down disk, do I have to turn it over?
Yes, you must.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If I encounter a disk and fail the check, it is reshuffled and a disk is placed back underneath me, can I move off of the disk?
Yes you may.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Since items are scattered randomly in the different buildings at the start of the game (at least in the first scenario), what is the purpose of the charts at the end of the rulebook listing different items in different buildings?
They are for the GM-run games.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can Items be used more than once?
Yes. All items are considered present until the end of the game, even the money items. The only exception is that the shotgun can only be used for three rounds.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I use more than one item per skill check?
No, not even on a good day or until you start incorporating the two-fisted skill in your game (which is presented in the Hell Unleashed set).
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If I come across an item or ally that I don't want, do I have to attempt to find or persuade it?
No. It would just be flipped back over and shuffled with the rest of the disks on that tile (inside the building).
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When reshuffling the disks in a building, do you reshuffle the disks that are face up?
No, just the disks that are face down - not the ones engaged in combat or that have been dropped.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When a character dies, what happens to their item and ally disks?
They are placed on the square where he/she died face up.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If there is more than one disk face up on a square, can I pick/persuade them all?
You can, but each disk will be a separate action - so you can't obtain all the disks on one turn - unless otherwise stated in the scenario.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Doors

When a player goes through a door, how long is it unlocked? More specifically, if a player on their turn following unlocking the door, goes up to the door, is it still unlocked?
The door is unlocked once that player and any player within 3 squares, who have been invited, are through the door. So, if a player moves up to the door on their turn after a player has unlocked the door, it is locked again.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When you exit the building, do you have to unlock the door again?
No. The doors are unlocked from the inside.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Errata

When using the line of sight, a disk is flipped over at the end of your movement if you have an action left. If you do not have an action left, it is turned over first thing on your next turn.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

General

How many people can play?
We recommend 3 to 6.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I play solo?
Yes, but I would raise the points for the created character to 23 points for attributes and 15 points in skills. That should keep you from being killed off too early. If that doesn’t work, you may want to start with a handgun or something.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I attack the other players?
Not unless the scenario specifically allows it.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can it be played with Zombies?
Only if you can get your friends to stay up that long. Seriously, you could create scenarios with Zombie adversaries or variant rules for putting When Darkness Comes... characters onto the Zombies!!! map, but we haven't done that... yet.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When placing a tile, does it matter which way I place it?
No. The person placing the tile gets to determine the orientation.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

General Tile Questions

What do the exclamation points (!) on the map mean?
They are scenario-specific locations. Check the scenario for additional instructions.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Line of Sight

What is Line of Sight?
It’s what you can see from your position. It’s measured directly not by way of movement.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can you see through other players?
No.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can you assist a player in a ranged attack?
No. Little hard for two people to hold the gun and aim.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When retreating from an adversary, can I used a ranged attack?
No. The mechanics for such a task would be too complicated. We may address it in the future.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I start my turn on a face down disk that is within my Line Of Sight, can I still attempt to heal myself?
No. You must wait until you are out of the LOS of all disks.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

With the Line of Sight, what happens when the disk is turned over?
 - The disk should be treated as if you were on the same square for items and allies, not moving to that square but still encountering it.
 - If the disk is an adversary, it moves on to your current square, but you may make a ranged attack before it moves. Combat then takes place as usual. Also, before it moves, you may roll your sneak against their initiative. If the skill check is successful, you may move as usual for your next movement. The disk would then be flipped over and shuffled with the other disks once it is no longer the closest disk in your Line of Sight.
 - If the disk is security, it moves on to your current square, but you may make a ranged attack before it moves. Combat takes place if you made a ranged attack. Otherwise, you may persuade it as usual. Also, before it moves, you may roll your sneak against their initiative. If the skill check is successful, you may move as usual for your next movement. The disk would then be flipped over and shuffled with the other disks once it is no longer the closest disk in your Line of Sight.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

What happens if there is a security disk and an adversary disk in your LOS at the end of your movement (both 2 squares away)?
You may roll sneak to get past both, but the one roll must beat both of their initiatives (separately). If you fail one of the sneak checks, you must encounter both. You have the opportunity to make one ranged attack against one of the disks before they move on to your square. Once the disks move to your square, you must resolve both of them separately on the same turn.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When are disks reshuffled?
If you have turned a disk face down on your turn, at the end of your turn the disks are shuffled even if you are sitting on a disk.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

What is the effect of a room light when it is found?
It allows normal LOS and movement for inside a building.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When you throw a weapon, how do you go about retrieving it?
You would move on to the square of the target who you threw the weapon at.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Do I lose the Victory Points for a weapon that is thrown and not picked back up?
Yes, you lose the points until you pick it back up.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Does a knocked down door block LOS?
No.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Does character orientation matter with LOS?
No.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When is a sneak roll made?
It is made when an adversary or security disk is revealed. You may try to roll a sneak check against their initiative to avoid combat. If you are successful, combat doesn’t take place and you may move as usual during your next movement (even if it is on your next turn). If you fail the sneak check, combat/encounter takes place as usual. You may not make more than one sneak check against the same flipped over disk.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Is a sneak check considered an action?
No as it is a modification to your movement.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

How do you apply the modifications for LOS for the specific terrains?
Normal line of sight is 4 squares without modification. So, in a building when the lights are out, you can’t see past your current square. Your movement, on the other hand, would be halved and then you subtract 2.
Example: If your movement is 5, and you are in a building in the dark, you would move 1 square (half of 5 rounded up would be 3, subtract 2 would give you a movement of 1).
The table for LOS is a little easier to understand if it reads:
Streets/open areas: 4 squares (normal)
Buildings/obstructed areas: 2 squares (-2)
Woods: 1 square (-3)
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Movement

How does movement work?
You roll your speed, just like any other skill check. You take the TN level and add it to your defense/health. That is your total maximum movement for that turn. Example: If your speed is 3, and you roll a 1P (which is a level 2 on the TN table) and your health is 3, you would move 5 spaces.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Do I have to use my entire movement total?
No, you don't have to move at all on your turn, but you do have to make a movement roll unless you are healing yourself.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Is diagonal movement legal?
No. You must move in straight lines.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Do I have to stop on a disk that is face down?
Yes.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I walk through the walls in a building?
No, you have to use the doors.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I take damage during combat, does it affect my movement?
Yes, since you add your speed roll to your health/defense, your movement would go down as you get hurt.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

What if I want to assist another player and the only way to get there is to move through a space with a disk on it, do I have to stop?
Yes! You become quite distracted. "Oooh look, a dime."
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If another player is in combat with an adversary (the disk is face up), and I want to move through that square, do I have to stop?
No. You do not have to stop on disks that are face up. They're busy fighting someone else.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I move out of a building and still have movement left, is my remaining movement doubled?
Yes. Since there are less obstructions and obstacles outside than in a building, it's quicker to move outside.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I retreat from an adversary is that considered my normal movement?
No. You may make a normal movement. We added the rule in The Horror Within that your next movement if you move twice during one turn due to retreating.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

After I retreat from an adversary and make a normal movement roll, do I still get an action?
No as retreating is considered your action.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If I go through a door that is knocked down, do I continue my movement?
No, you must stop. Your eyes are adjusting.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Perception

When you are attempting to perceive in a building, can you conceivably see all of the discs in the building (if you roll well enough) even though many of them are in different rooms in the building?
Yes.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When you perceive, do the disks you perceive get flipped over, or does the successful player simply take a peek?
The player making the perception check is the only one looking at the disks.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can I make a perception check more than once per building?
No, but good try!
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Scenario Questions

THE ENEMY OF MY ENEMY: Do we have to find Dubois before the bomb?
No, but he must be found before the game is over. This wasn't stated in the winning conditions, but it should have been.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

RETURN OF THE TZIMOVARS: Can I attack a non-vampire with a stake?
Yes. It should be considered similar to a knife with an attack bonus of +1 in HtoH combat.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

RETURN OF THE TZIMOVARS: Can I kill a vampire without a stake?
No. You must have a stake in order to kill the vampires.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Specific Tile Questions

Is the school one or two buildings for perception purposes, since it is comprised of two tiles? Is the City Hall/Jail one or two buildings?
The building would be considered two separate tiles for perception, so you can only look at the disks on one of the tiles for perception check. The City Hall/Jail is considered one building (it's a small town).
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Targets and Dice

If I roll a six straight (6S) which is not on the table, does that beat five of a kind (5K)?
Technically no, but in certain games we have made it a house rule.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If I roll a 6H plus 1P, do I add the levels together?
No. Your highest TN level rolled is the only one that counts.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

How do target numbers work? How do I "meet or beat a 6H"?
6H means you have to roll a six on at least one of your dice. You meet or beat a target if you roll equal to or better than the target. The chart on page 4 runs from lowest (6H) to highest (5K). If you have to meet or beat four of a kind (4K), then rolling four of a kind (4K), five straight (5S) or five of a kind (5K) will succeed.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Is 5, 6, 1 considered a straight?
Nope, not even on a good day.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Does the exact roll matter? Example: Is four 3's better than four 2's?
Most of the time it doesn't. If you're making an "Opposed Skill Check", then yes, it does and in the example, four 3's would win.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

What if we're tied (we both have four 3's for example?)
Everyone involved in the tie rolls again as if the first set of rolls had never happened (ie, you can use allies and whatnot to reroll dice) Nothing that wasn't used the first time can be used on the tie-breaker roll.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

If I have a skill of 3 dice and am allowed 4 rerolls, can I reroll three and then one more?
Maybe. If more than one ally or player is assisting you, each of them allows a separate reroll. For example, if you have 3 dice and are being assisted by an ally with 2 dice and another player with 4 dice, you can make 2 rerolls. The ally will allow a reroll of 2 dice and the player will allow a reroll of 3 dice, with the extra die wasted. It's up to the player to declare which rerolls he is taking when.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When you get "re-rolls" in combat or skill checks (because of allies, items, or spending victory points), does "re-rolling" really mean "re-rolling" -- i.e. forfeiting some of your initial rolls for a re-roll, rather than rolling additional dice? What do you do when it is a combat and the player "assisting" has more dice in attack than the player being assisted? For example, say the primary player has three dice in attack and the assisting player has 5 dice in attack -- can the primary player only re-roll up to three? Or can he/she add two dice and re-roll up to three of the original dice?
If a player assisting has more dice, you still can only re-roll up to your maximum dice. You could add dice before combat by spending VPs though. If you have an ally plus a player assisting you, it's two separate re-rolls. I do believe there is an example of that in the book. So, if you are rolling four dice, your ally allows a re-roll of 1 and the assisting player allows a reroll of 3 - you roll the original dice, re-roll 3 and then can re-roll 2 or vice versa.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005