Table of Contents

Errata

When using the line of sight, a disk is flipped over at the end of your movement if you have an action left. If you do not have an action left, it is turned over first thing on your next turn.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Line of Sight

What is Line of Sight?
It’s what you can see from your position. It’s measured directly not by way of movement.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can you see through other players?
No.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Can you assist a player in a ranged attack?
No. Little hard for two people to hold the gun and aim.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When retreating from an adversary, can I used a ranged attack?
No. The mechanics for such a task would be too complicated. We may address it in the future.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When I start my turn on a face down disk that is within my Line Of Sight, can I still attempt to heal myself?
No. You must wait until you are out of the LOS of all disks.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

With the Line of Sight, what happens when the disk is turned over?
 - The disk should be treated as if you were on the same square for items and allies, not moving to that square but still encountering it.
 - If the disk is an adversary, it moves on to your current square, but you may make a ranged attack before it moves. Combat then takes place as usual. Also, before it moves, you may roll your sneak against their initiative. If the skill check is successful, you may move as usual for your next movement. The disk would then be flipped over and shuffled with the other disks once it is no longer the closest disk in your Line of Sight.
 - If the disk is security, it moves on to your current square, but you may make a ranged attack before it moves. Combat takes place if you made a ranged attack. Otherwise, you may persuade it as usual. Also, before it moves, you may roll your sneak against their initiative. If the skill check is successful, you may move as usual for your next movement. The disk would then be flipped over and shuffled with the other disks once it is no longer the closest disk in your Line of Sight.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

What happens if there is a security disk and an adversary disk in your LOS at the end of your movement (both 2 squares away)?
You may roll sneak to get past both, but the one roll must beat both of their initiatives (separately). If you fail one of the sneak checks, you must encounter both. You have the opportunity to make one ranged attack against one of the disks before they move on to your square. Once the disks move to your square, you must resolve both of them separately on the same turn.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When are disks reshuffled?
If you have turned a disk face down on your turn, at the end of your turn the disks are shuffled even if you are sitting on a disk.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

What is the effect of a room light when it is found?
It allows normal LOS and movement for inside a building.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When you throw a weapon, how do you go about retrieving it?
You would move on to the square of the target who you threw the weapon at.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Do I lose the Victory Points for a weapon that is thrown and not picked back up?
Yes, you lose the points until you pick it back up.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Does a knocked down door block LOS?
No.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Does character orientation matter with LOS?
No.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

When is a sneak roll made?
It is made when an adversary or security disk is revealed. You may try to roll a sneak check against their initiative to avoid combat. If you are successful, combat doesn’t take place and you may move as usual during your next movement (even if it is on your next turn). If you fail the sneak check, combat/encounter takes place as usual. You may not make more than one sneak check against the same flipped over disk.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

Is a sneak check considered an action?
No as it is a modification to your movement.
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005

How do you apply the modifications for LOS for the specific terrains?
Normal line of sight is 4 squares without modification. So, in a building when the lights are out, you can’t see past your current square. Your movement, on the other hand, would be halved and then you subtract 2.
Example: If your movement is 5, and you are in a building in the dark, you would move 1 square (half of 5 rounded up would be 3, subtract 2 would give you a movement of 1).
The table for LOS is a little easier to understand if it reads:
Streets/open areas: 4 squares (normal)
Buildings/obstructed areas: 2 squares (-2)
Woods: 1 square (-3)
Source: Kerry June 1, 2005